Day 37

I may miss out on some things because I am writing this blog at 7:24pm. We are at a beautiful location (with NO mosquitos!) just outside of Enshaw, and a bit south of Canmore.
We woke to another rainy day but luckily we were inside. I woke up at 5 am because I can’t seem to get out of my routine now to go to the bathroom in the morning. We don’t have much water tonight so hopefully I won’t wake too early tomorrow.
Anyways, I skipped breakfast (just some peanut butter and jam in the morning), charged my electronics one more time, and headed south.
We took the Trans Canada 1 all the way to Banff, and taking a detour through the town to see what it was about.
All these places aren’t like what I had pictured them to be in my head, but instead they’re very oriented for tourists and money shaggers. Although, it was a very cute little town – the part we rode through anyways.

We hiked back onto the Trans Canada and slowly decended down and down the mountains, stopping here and there for a photo or two. There were signs cautioning travellers about wildlife and especially bears. We however didn’t see one, although we did ride through some areas where it smelt like an unattended barn. We’re thinking animals must’ve been around not long ago to contribute to the soil, then peaced before we came around.
We turned off onto Bow Valley Trail which led us to Canmore when I received a phone call asking if I could come in for an interview with the Rocky Mountain Outlook. He had actually left me a message, and we just happened to be in Canmore when I received it. Drew (the reporter) was pretty nice, telling us to check out Yukon sometime and that he was actually from the Niagara Falls region back home. He knew where Dunnville was, but didn’t seem to know where Jarvis (or Hagersville) was. I asked him where I could see some Big Horn Sheep, and he directed us down Bow Valley Trail (Highway 1A) because apparently, there are more wildlife out there compared to the major Trans Canada.
After a visit to Sobey’s to grab food for the night, we took off down Hwy 1A when we met up with a cyclist riding in the same direction. A friendly older man, just happy to be out riding shared a good conversation and then warned us about bears.

We kept riding, down through the never ending mountains when we came up to a Rocky Mountain Sheep and Elk Conservation area. I was sure I’d see one now! One had to be grazing on the mountain side or something and I’m still sure they were, I just didn’t see one..
I spotted a nice day use park area just down the street in front of a lake and thats where we decided to spend the night. The location is absolutely gorgeous but the wind is a bit chilly when the sun takes a time out. The lake is also that blue/green mountain water colour and sure enough, its cold like it too. I don’t think drinking from it straight at this altitude is a good idea so we’re going to have to give it a boil before we consume any. Too bad though, I’m really thirsty.
Regardless of the temperature, I wanted to rinse off so I walked in with a cloth and basically gave myself a sponge bath. It actually wasn’t that bad once you got your face and hair wet but I still didn’t jump in because it was still super cold.

We are finally able to enjoy camping and being outside again as we aren’t spending all our time fending off mosquitos. I think it may have something to do with the strong breeze thats keeping them away. Whatever it is, I’ll take it.
Tomorrow I hit Calgary, and may depart from Sean. I’m not sure what Sean’s plans are as he hasn’t really told me anything but I’m sure he’ll tell me last minute to keep me on my toes. Til then, I’ll assume we’re splitting up and it’s kind of sad now to think our journey together has come to an end. I hope to meet up sometime on Sunday to grab a drink before I head out Monday morning. When I decide to hit the road again, headed for Jarvis. I’ll be alone. From Calgary, through Saskatchewan, Manitoba, and finally Ontario, I’ll be doing this (physically) alone. Man, that’s a long way. Just another month or so.. Maybe I’ll be back in time for Cornfest? Probably not though, thats a week ahead of my original schedule.
Besides, all the heat people are crying about back home isn’t really giving me that motivation to push for home yet. Although it’s been wet here, I don’t mind the mild climate.

Total Time – 5hrs 3min
Time on Bike – 3hrs 36min
Total distance – 97km
Caloric exp – 2712kcal = easy day.

Leave a comment