Day 39

I woke up feeling so relaxed under the warm covers but couldn`t sleep any longer so I got up and watched Letters from Iwo Jima. I didn`t know it was two and a half hours long and after about an hour and a bit, I went and got breakfast.
Mike Crape and Sean woke up and while I did laundry, Mike had made a good hearty breakfast.

We then cleaned our bikes with all the tools and goods Mike had, and Mike (being a bike guru) helped us get the bikes prepared for Sean`s final tiny leg, and my upcoming leg across the prairies and back home to Ontario. My chain fell off when we were riding to Bragg Creek and dinked up a couple of spokes, putting the wheel out of tru so we had to take it into the shop to get it repaired.
Sean packed his ride, while Mike and I got ready to go pick up Lauren from the airport (she was in Vancouver for work but caught an early flight to come back). Sean and I said our short good byes and farewells and that was it. We are now officially distanced and Sean will be meeting Chelsea at the airport tomorrow, and heading up to Edmonton to go to his brother`s place.

After picking up Lauren, we went to the bike shop, dropped the wheel off, drove around getting Lauren`s equipment for lax and what not, and got dropped off at a potluck/bbq at Glen’s who is Lauren and Clare’s (also a good friend) training coach. The bbq/potluck was awesome and I definitely ate enough fresh fruits and veggies to last me another two weeks or so. (And enough chocolate to last me a life time – they had a chocolate fondo fountain, and Clare made ice cream sandwiches).
Mike came back at around 7:30pm to pick us up and we headed home. I don’t know about Mike, but Lauren and I (definitely me anyways) had that full and lazy feeling so we watched My Best Friend’s Girl. It was alright, I find Dane Cooks humour old now and kind of annoying with all the yelling and over done gestures but it was still good to watch.

I slept in Laurens room again although she was there and I did feel bad cause she had to sleep in her brothers room, but what the hey, that bed is awesome haha. Maybe I’ll be nice and do a switcheroo today lol.

I think the bug is deeper into my chest now. The medication can only go so far when I put myself through some cold, wet conditions (yes, Lake Louise too), but more the constant rain and chilling weather Sean and I rode through until yesterday. We even biked in hail and it was just awful. I do have some medication left, and I have been taking them regularly so hopefully I’ll get rid of it soon enough.
Sorry to say, but the weather here is gorgeous. I’m writing this in the morning of Day 40, and its calm, sunny, and not too hot. Perfect day for a little run with Lauren, and whatever else we decide to do today.

One response to this post.

  1. Posted by Marie Mitchell on July 28, 2011 at 10:55 pm

    I wish you would rest this “bug” away! Will you please go to another clinic for more anti biotics?! I am worried about your health.

    Reply

Leave a comment