Day 41

Woke up at 6 am and was tired so I snoozed for another 8 min but didn’t really help. Not sure why, I even slept in a bit and I was tired. Mike was already up and made shakes to give me a good start today. Lauren came out to the kitchen when I was finishing breakfast and I had her sign the flag, and offered her gifts for their hospitality and company.
I left at 7:30am, as I planned after a nice hug and good bye. I was set to face the prairies, the elements, and my undermining sickness alone. First, the roads went over rolling hills which later turned into foot hills, and eventually flatter and flatter foot hills, that will eventually flatten out to nothing. The sickness seems to be making its way deeper into my trachea and into the bronchioles. When I cough, it feels as if the layer of skin protecting my airway is on fire and sharp, burning pains, radiate throughout my lungs. Even yesterday, when I went for a run, I could feel it a little, but I just thought I was out of shape and didn’t bring any attention to it. Today however, I find it hard to breathe, and when climbing the small foot hills, my heart rate jumps to compensate for the anaerobic way to get energy, instead of being able to use aerobic/oxidative methods. Tomorrow, I’ll be out of medication but I will be in Medicine Hat, so I’ll look into a clinic there.

Not a whole lot to say about the the ride really. I had a lot of time to think about different things, jumping from future projects, girls, tragedies, fantasies, and then complete numbness to the world. I remember thinking about these in the first week of riding when I was alone, but with Sean I had to be a bit more attentative and the presence of someone else deterred some of my thoughts – I guess.
Clare Webb and her mother were telling me how secluded the towns were and I should be aware of such remoteness, and they were right. I rode 124 km’s without hitting a town. There were signs to turn down a street for a town, but nothing on the road I was travelling on. At about 100 km’s, there was an Aboriginal Convenience Store and Gift Shop (Boy Chiefs), so I pulled in to get some water. I met up with Mona, the lady that brought our boose to Mike Crape’s place a few nights ago, as she was on her way with 4 other women to save dogs. Mona if you read this, I would still love to have a little buddy haha. One of the women took pictures as she was a photographer as they complimented me in my efforts – felt pretty good.. Haha.
At about 130 km’s I just wanted to get off the bike because I was exhausted. My glutes were sore, I was bored, super tired, and a bit frustrated the town wouldn’t come any sooner. As I went around the final bend to head for the town, I was hit with a strong head wind that slowed me down from about 25km/h to a whopping 10 km/h. It sucked. My final 15 km’s of the day riding into a strong head wind.
I had to get in town though, I needed to get some water, and some food. I have food with me, but I need water to cook it with. So regardless, I needed to hit Bassano.

I finally reached Bassano and stopped in at Emma’s Esso with Rosie’s Restaurant attached. The restaurant sucked and the waitress brought me apple juice instead of orange, and brought me soy sauce when I asked for malt vinegar. But the people in Esso were kind enough to tell me to pitch a tent just across the street. I washed up in the bathroom with my buff (piece of cloth), as an old man watched me oddly trying to determine if I was a bum or not – Sir, I’m a bum, living and washing on the side of the road. Whatever though, my long first day alonehas finally come to an end. Tomorrow’s ride is going to be 10 km’s shorter, but I’ll still get up early and hit the road as soon as I can.
They’re calling for rain tonight, and all day tomorrow. What a surprise. I expected rain when I was planning the trip, but not like this. It has pretty much rained every day that I have been on the road since we hit the West coast. I guess it’s better than riding in the blazing heat all day, but it’s not going to be doing me any good for my sickness.

Total time – 7 hrs 37 min
Time on bike – 6 hrs 26 min
Total distance – 166km
Caloric exp – 5925 kcal

Leave a comment